Short Portrait of SFCNS

The Swiss Federation of Clinical Neuro-Societies (SFCNS) was officially founded in 2009. First steps in that direction were taken at the Joint Meeting of six Clinical Neuroscience Societies in April 2008 in Montreux, which commemorated the centenary of the Swiss Neurological Society.

Following this great success and overwhelming approval, the Swiss Neurological Society (SNS), Swiss Society of Neurosurgery (SSNS), Swiss Society of Clinical Neurophysiology (SSNC), Swiss Society of Neuropaediatrics (SSNP), Swiss Society of Neuroradiology (SSNR), and Swiss Society of Neuropathology (SSNPath) decided to close ranks and form a Swiss Federation of Clinical Neuro-Societies (SFCNS) which marked the beginning of a new cooperative effort to strengthen the clinical neurosciences in Switzerland. The federation should formalise and structure the joint medico-political, educational and clinical research efforts.

Its further aim is to hold common meetings on a regular basis to facilitate mutual interactions and be open also to other medical groups pursuing clinical neuroscience interests. It will also be a cooperative partner of the Swiss Society for Neuroscience.

For further information about the SFCNS please visit our website.

SFCNS Executive Board

President 2019-2022
Prof. Philippe Lyrer, MD
Universitätsspital Basel

Prof. Luca Remonda, MD
Kantonsspital Aarau

Prof. Karl Schaller, MD
HUG Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève

Prof. Barbara Tettenborn, MD
Kantonsspital St.Gallen

Assessor SSNR
Prof. Jan Gralla, MD
Inselspital Bern

Assessor SSNC
Prof. Andreas Raabe, MD
Inselspital Bern

Assessor SSNP
PD Barbara Goeggel-Simonetti, MD
EOC Istituto di Pediatria della Svizzera Italiana Bellinzona

Assessor SSBP
Prof. Sebastian Walther, MD
Universitätsklinik für Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie Bern

Assessor SSCN
PD Susanne Renaud, MD
Hôpital neuchâtelois Pourtalès Neuchâtel

Assessor YouCliN
PD Arseny Sokolov, MD
CHUV - Service de Neurologie Lausanne

General Secretary
Harald F. Grossmann, Basel